Meet the Rock Stars: Dr. Mark Evans

evans
Dr. Evans trying to explain something to students on a field trip to Cape Ann, MA.

Note: This is the first in a series of posts introducing our amazing faculty and staff.

Name: Mark A. Evans

Title: Professor and Chair

Year Started at CCSU: 2004

Courses Taught: Dynamic Earth, Dynamic Earth Lab, Earth and Life History, Mineralogy, Field Methods, Petrology. (in the past I’ve also taught Climate Change, Natural Disasters, Hydrogeology, and yes, even Stratigraphy and Sedimentology once)

Current research projects: I am working in three areas:

First, I am studying the fluid evolution and structural history of the Central Appalachians in Pennsylvania including the Marcellus shale. The goal is to understand how fluids (water, hydrocarbon, and ore fluid) moved through the rocks during the mountain building events millions of years ago. I am also developing a three dimensional structural model of the region.

Second, I am studying the fluid evolution in the Wyoming Salient in eastern Idaho and western Wyoming. Again, the goal is to understand how fluids (water, hydrocarbon, and ore fluid) moved through the rocks during the mountain building events millions of years ago. In this project, I am working with other geoscientists from the University of Rochester and Weber State University.

Finally, another project that I am working on is studying how fluids migrated along faults in the Hartford Basin in central Connecticut. These fluids locally created ore deposits of copper, lead, and barium.

Favorite book: Uncle Tungsten: Memories of a Chemical Boyhood by the late Oliver Sacks. This autobiographical book describes how Oliver Sacks loved science as a boy, and played with his chemistry set, collected minerals and other natural curiosities. After reading this book, I felt that I had a kindred spirit as that is how I learned to love science, by exploring the world around me (and making the house stink with my chemistry set).

Favorite film: I don’t see many films, but one that I really liked recently was The Imitation Game. I enjoyed the story of how Alan Turing broke the Enigma code and contributed to the allied win of World War II. I also enjoy watching actor Benedict Cumberbatch.

Favorite scientific term: Orogeny – it just sounds like fun

Something your student’s don’t know about you: I was a stay-at-home dad (Mr. Mom) for three years when my first daughter was born.

Leave a Reply

