Meet the Rock Stars, part 3: Dr. Michael Wizevich

wizi2

Name:   Dr. Michael Wizevich

Title: Associate Professor

Year Started at CCSU: 2006

Courses Taught: FYE 101 First Year Experience, GSCI 100 Search in Earth Science – Geology of National Parks, GSCI 100 Search in Science – Energy Principles and Problems, GSCI 121 Dynamic Earth, GSCI 121 Dynamic Earth Lab, GSCI 131 Environmental Geoscience, GSCI 141 Earth and Life History, GSCI 145 Earth and Life History Lab, GSCI 223 Stratigraphy and Sedimentology, GSCI 290 Field Methods in Geology, GSCI 424 Geomorphology, GSCI 425 Glacial and Quaternary Geology, GSCI 460 Senior Project, 490 Topics in Earth Science – Energy Science

Current research projects: Uranium-Lead Dating of Detrital Zircons of the Hartford Basin, Uranium-Lead Dating of Detrital Zircons of the Vieux Emosson Formation, southwest Switzerland, Depositional Environment of the of the Vieux Emosson Formation, southwest Switzerland, Internal Architecture of Exhumed Paleochannels in the Cedar Mountain Formation, central Utah (2016)

Favorite book: Very difficult to pick. I like to read. There are many favorites, but I’ll pick two that I read during my formative years (I wonder if they are still relevant to today’s college students). Been Down So Long it Looks Like Up To Me by Richard Fariña. Multiple reasons: Great title, spirited subversive protagonist, and a nearly believable out-of-the-ordinary storyline that was based partly on Fariña’s college experiences at my alma mater. Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert Pirsig was the perfect thought-provoking book to read while contemplating a new career path in geology

Favorite film: Star Wars . Having grown up in a generation of astronaut wannabes, I appreciate how it took (Star Trek (TV) and 2001: A Space Odyssey) space sci-fi to another level

Favorite scientific term: Pingo. Saying it makes you smile and it is a good name for a pet (….P-I-N-G-O And Pingo was his name-o).

Something my student’s don’t know about me: I once drove from Connecticut to the Grand Canyon by myself. I was quite impressed, so I’ve gone back there seven more times, but each time I’ve carpooled.

Leave a Reply

