Meet the Rock Stars, Part 4: Mr. Troy Schinkel

HPIM2616

Name: Troy Schinkel

Title: Adjunct faculty

Year Started at CCSU: 2011

Courses Taught: Dynamic Earth laboratory, Severe and Hazardous Weather, and Climate Change

Current research projects: Lately I’ve been working with Dr. Maureen Long from Yale University installing seismometers in northern Connecticut. The purpose of the 3 year long project is to understand the structure of the Earth’s crust and upper mantle beneath Connecticut.  The seismometers will be able to detect earthquakes from all over the world and how these waves change as they pass through the interior of the earth will help to better understand the geology below Connecticut.

Favorite book:  Tuesday’s With Morrie by Mitch Albom. It is important for me to read every once in awhile, especially when I’m working too much.  The book reminds me to slow down and focus on the important things in life.

Favorite film: Without a doubt – Goodfellas. A sharp contrast from my book selection. “…but I’m funny how, I mean funny like I’m a clown, I amuse you? I make you laugh…

Favorite scientific term: Cummingtonite. What, it’s a mineral!

Something my students don’t know about me: Not that long ago I was a student at CCSU. I finished my master’s degree in 2012.  For anyone wondering about a master’s degree in Geology at CCSU, sorry, I was the last one!

Leave a Reply

